Skip to content

Social Learning Assessment and Recommendation Tool

March 19, 2010

Ok, I know I’m way behind on posting.  I despair of ever getting back into any sort of rythym.  Ironically, I’ve never been more active on the social front, its just that the majority of it is happening in person at industry events.  I can’t even count the number of venues I’ve spoken at this year.  I’m also reworking entire websites within Learn.com to be much more social and collaborative, using approaches that include microblogging, idea sharing, discusssions, ratings and reviews, and blog-ish type strategies — all using our own technologies of course… ; )

I’ve also been pretty active in creating assets.  Kevin and I recently created the Social Learning Strategies Checklist which we released under Creative Commons with a Commercial Share Alike license.  And I came up with a new ID rubric that accounts for emergent, collaborative, and codified learning.  It piggybacks on top of a post by Harold and Jay, but also extends it quite a bit to be used as a framework for evaluating the specific type and nature of the learning challenge.  I’ve now extended this even further by making it into an Excel spreadsheet.  Now it does all the math, creates a graph of your “type” and than makes recommendations based on how strongly or weakly you answer certain questions.

While I originally intended it to be used by less experienced folks, I’ve actually found if helpful to use when I’m thinking through my strategies — which is kind of weird since I wrote it… ; )  I think this means there may be some actual value in it.  I hope you feel the same.  Here it is:  ECCO Assessment and Recommendation Tool.  Let me know what you think.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Simon Fowler permalink
    March 19, 2010 5:08 pm

    Thanks for sharing this, Dave.

    BTW – The link to Jay/Harold’s post is broken, or their togetherlearn.com registration has expired!

  2. jhengstler permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:25 pm

    Loved the graphic but am wondering how the scores for collaborative, emergent and codified are generated. Took a quick look at the checklist and they don’t seem to come from there.

    • dwilkinsnh permalink*
      April 13, 2010 2:21 pm

      Basically, there are 10 questions specifically targeted at each learning need: Emergent, Collaborative, Codified. From there, I just average out the score and plot it. It should be pretty obvious which go with which, but if it helps, they are grouped together… ; ) 10, 10, 10.

      The recommendations are based on individual scores for certain questions. I assume anything about a “6” is a high score and indicates a legitimate focus in this area. In some cases, the recommendation might be triggered from a single field. In others, it’s an “OR” condition, and in a few rare cases, it’s an “AND.”

      The whole thing still needs work, but it’s better than what’s out there now which is a whole lot of nothing. Unless maybe I’ve missed some good work by others. If so, I’d love to hear of similar tools.

  3. December 3, 2010 6:40 am

    its definitely better than whats out there, your analysis is spot on in my opinion.

  4. January 21, 2011 3:40 pm

    Recently Harold Jarche just posted a good brief, succinct “elevator pitch, in 10 sentences, for social learning, which is what really makes social business work,” which is a great summary post of The training department of the future by Jarche and Jay Cross.

    Since your file downloads are not working here are some that do: ECCO Assessment and Recommendation Tool and Social Learning Strategies Checklist.

Leave a Reply

