Skip to content

Slides from Keynote at Training 2010

February 3, 2010

Slides

I had the great pleasure to present a keynote address yesterday at Training 2010.  While I’ve presented at dozens and dozens of conferences over the years, this was my first true keynote.  Was I nervous?  Yeah, I have to admit, just a bit.  Complicating matters was the fact that the other keynote presenter (they had two back-to-back) was significantly delayed as a result of air travel issues.  So my directions were to basically go on stage not knowing whether I was going to need to be on for 30 min, 45 min, 60 min or even more.  The conference was also using an audience response system for the first time which I insanely decided to use.  I’m happy to report that it went off pretty seamlessly despite all sorts of potential for disaster.

The good news is that I was able to get the data from the audience response system and boy was it interesting.  I don’t want to spoil the fun, but suffice to say, the training industry is a mess in terms of it’s understanding of it’s role and responsibilities.

For now, I just want to give you the slides.  Tomorrow or perhaps over the weekend, I’ll do a full write up on the preso and the audience polling.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2010 9:17 am

    Most interesting, Dave & thanks for the mention. Keep up the good work!

  2. February 3, 2010 10:12 am

    Dave, thanks for sharing the slides. I really wanted to get to your keynote but alas (and as you know) I was held back by central NC’s first real snowstorm in 6 years. Love your scenarios and the “teach a man to….” thinking. I’m really interested in hearing more about data from the audience response system so look forward to you posting that. And: Thanks for the mention -and for filling in for one of my sessions!
    Best,
    Jane

  3. Kevin Bruny permalink
    February 3, 2010 11:19 am

    If I couldn’t be present, it was great to see the thought process of your message. Thanks for sharing the slides.

  4. February 3, 2010 11:59 am

    Thanks also for the mention, Dave. Great examples and great questions, that should have made any learning / T&D professional stop and think hard.

  5. February 3, 2010 12:42 pm

    Thanks for sharing this Dave…I look forward to “the rest of the story”. 8>D

  6. February 3, 2010 1:15 pm

    Dave, this is great! I love the way you’ve woven so many themes together. Your case examples are clear and intriguing. Do you think the audience at Training 2010 “got it”?

    • February 3, 2010 3:53 pm

      Jay, I was in the front row so I could heckle him. 😉 When he drove his key points home, you could audibly hear people gasp – in that context a sign that they got it. Then I asked a random person what they thought of it. He REALLY didn’t get it. So I am sure there is a good mix. In the very least, Dave nailed the message. It may take a few more times for others to hear before it sinks in (because it surely was not what most people were expecting to hear), but you could tell it hit some people right between the eyes.

  7. February 6, 2010 10:47 pm

    As usual, stellar stuff.

    Congrats on the proper ‘title’ at Learn.com as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Engaged Learning » Blog Archive » Keynote: Training’s Future with Social Technologies

Leave a Reply

