Skip to content

Day 2 at Learn.com

June 24, 2009

Ok, so I made it through my first two days at Learn. You know that expression “drinking from the fire hose”? Make that four fire hoses. I’m simultaneously trying to get a handle on product, sales, marketing and overall company vision and strategy. Thank god I don’t also have to learn about the LMS part of this equation as well…

What’s it been like at Learn?  Three things have really jumped out at me:

  1. The company here is very team-oriented. I got a few dozen heart-felt “welcome to the company” messages today, and this evening, I was having simultaneous email conversations with about 10 different people at around 10:45 pm. To a person, everyone I met has been gracious, passionate, and relentlessly focused on winning. It reminds me a lot of the amazingly fun and kick-ass times I had at Knowledge Impact just after the launch of Firefly. There is a “can’t lose” attitude here that is infectious, even for an old salt like me.
  2. The product is way better than I assumed.  Virtually all paths forward from where we are right now lead to all sorts of kick-assery for the competition which is exciting.
  3. On several occasions so far, I’ve been briefed about the future direction and overall strategy for the rest of 2009. And in all cases, for want of time, I’ve heard maybe 20-25% of the story before getting pulled into something else (normal new hire craziness).  So for two days, I’ve done what I’m inclined to do in these scenarios: I’ve filled in the blanks with logical next steps, future evolutions, connections to other features.

    This evening, for the first time, I saw the complete, high-level PPT overview for many of the product features and themes that I had been building in my head.  In every case, the existing product strategy and direction mapped pretty much exactly to my “fill-in-the-blanks” product strategy and direction. What does this mean?  Just two things – 1) the team here knows their stuff, and 2) this is a really good fit for me.

So after two days worth of demos and conversations, I’m happy to report that I’m even more jazzed about my role here and Learn.com’s potential to achieve true greatness in our space.

As to this blog, once I get my sea legs, I will be fine, but the next few weeks are going to be busy busy so don’t be surprised if I go dark for days at a time.

On a totally unrelated note, does anyone know of any good talent management, workforce 2.0, or competency / performance blogs to follow? I need to re-immerse myself in this world as quickly as I can, but I’m a bit out-of-touch on the best blogs in these arenas.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 4:59 pm

    Congrats on the role – you’ll soar.

    There’s a top 25 TM blog list that I dug up – might be of interest:

    http://www.fistfuloftalent.com/2008/08/fdd-1-the-recru.html

    cheers
    dp

Leave a Reply

