Skip to content

Working / Learning Blog Carnival

April 24, 2009

So this week I was supposed to do my part to continue Dave Ferguson’s blog carnival on working / learning and I totally blew the timing.  The good thing is that I was slammed with work and high profile webinars, the bad thing is that I’m now four days past my “due date.”

This then is my call for contributions.  Do you blog about the interesection between learning and work?  Do you write about the death of “command and control” and the birth of “co-create and collaborate?”  Do you think learning should be more strategic and should pervade all aspects of work?  Do you think work itself is now about learning new things and applying new skills?

Yeah me too.  Any posts on any of the above topics would be a great fit for the blog carnival.  Another option might be to share your thoughts on Jay’s recent Learning Innovation and Trends global web event, or the webinar Kevin and I did this past Wednesday.

I’d also ask for you to throw this invite to colleagues or fellow bloggers outside the learning space.  HR folks?  Talent Development folks?  OD or Marketing folks?  All are welcome.  This topic is about the intersection between work and learning and therefore hits every department and every knowledge domain.

To contribute, all you need to do is send me a description of your post and a link before or on the “go-live” date – Thursday, April 30th.  I’m looking forward to your contributions.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2009 2:20 pm

    Just chiming in to second the invitation. The wide of a blog carnival is to offer more to read, and more to comment on. Dave, I wish I’d found as crisp a way to summarize the “work at learning, learning at work” theme as you did: the intersection between work and learning.

  2. dwilkinsnh permalink*
    April 24, 2009 2:28 pm

    Thanks Dave. It’s something I’ve been thinking a lot about lately, both in my own work and in the research I’ve been doing about big companies use of social media and networking. So much of it *is* learning, but it’s often not described that way – it’s described as sharing or innovating or supporting. Should be interesting to see what sort of topics come up – I’ve asked my social media buddies to chime in as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Reflecting On Chaotic Action | The Smart Work Company

Leave a Reply

