Skip to content

New Blog Title

April 8, 2009

I don’t know if people do this.  I’m not sure I should have done it.  But I changed the title of this blog.  It used to be called The Social Learning Blog – super original I know…  While not particularly creative, it was a reasonably apt title for some of the subject matter.  The problem is that it’s a pretty poor descriptor and an overly limited one for many of the other topics I’ve been addressing.

As I consider where my real passion lies and as I read through some of my historical posts, the reality is that I’m not “just” a social learning guy.  I’m really an advocate for the “Social Enterprise” and for transforming all business practices to be more social.  I’ve moderated panels at CMO Summits, strategized with clients about social customer support strategies, and written whole White Papers on workplace communities.  Social Learning is certainly part of this mix as are subjects like social talent development strategies (which I haven’t had a chance to dig into yet).  But equally important are social innovation strategies and social marketing strategies.  I have a reasonable depth of experience and interest in these areas as well.

I’m hoping that this transition to a broader set of topics and domain areas doesn’t send anyone away.  I hope to share a lot of insights in related fields and in related uses of social technologies.  Maybe you can regard me as a guinea pig of sorts:  for some time now, I have been suggesting that learning professionals spread their wings and begin tackling social learning opportunities outside their traditional training and development comfort zone – subjects like collboration initiatives and alumni communities for example.  Well, now I’m putting where my mouth is and moving upstream to see how some of the stuff I’ve been advocating around social learning and collaboration will play in other strategic business processes.

I’m curious for your thoughts on this transition and appreciate any feedback.  Thanks for sticking around for the ride.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2009 8:21 pm

    I love your blog regardless of the title. I am SO excited that you’re planning on talking about social talent development strategies. I work in Talent Development (HR) and am trying to incorporate social media into my daily job as well as coming up with training for other HR professionals I work with.

    Can’t wait to see what you post about it!!
    Thanks,
    Trish

  2. dwilkinsnh permalink*
    April 8, 2009 9:34 pm

    Trish,

    Thanks for the kind words. I really appreciate it. It seems like you’re writing some pretty good blog yourself… ; )

    My wife loves scrapbooking so when it came time to propose last summer, that’s how I did it. Basically wrote a huge poem of our dating time together, pulled together all the pictures from that time, and threw it into a scrapbook with related stickers, buttons, tickets stubs etc… I’m pretty sure my overall manliness took a permanent hit in the eyes of my friends, but she was blown away… ; )

    I’ve also RSS’ed your HR blog. I’m looking forward to your posts. I’ll try to get that Talent Management post out sometime in the next week or so. It’s going to be a big one which is why it’s taking me a bit… ; )

    Dave

    • April 9, 2009 1:22 pm

      Dave, I’m thinking you need to post some pictures of your “manly scrapbook” for us. That has to be the coolest proposal I’ve heard of. No wonder your wife was blown away. You know, maybe you’re on to something here…you could have a side business marketing “manly scrapbook” kits. 🙂

      Keep up the good blog work!
      Trish

      • dwilkinsnh permalink*
        April 9, 2009 2:26 pm

        Ok, but only because you asked. Don’t expect anything manly… ; ) I did for her remember, so it’s kind of girly. And no, I can’t believe I’m writing about scrapbooking either. Thank god my friends don’t care enough about me to read my blog. : )

  3. April 9, 2009 8:31 am

    I’m with Trish on this. It’s good stuff no matter what you call it.
    BTW…on my reader, author says … from Social Learning Blog by dhwilkins.

    • dwilkinsnh permalink*
      April 9, 2009 9:27 am

      Thanks Janet. Considering how much I admire your blog and your expertise in general, your appreciation means all the more to me. I’ll try to keep delivering value.

      As to the reader thing, I’m hoping it’s just a propagation issue — sometimes domain changes can take a bit to filter through the web. On the other hand, it could be that your reader will permanently see it with the old title. This is all new ground for me so I’m not really sure what’s going to happen… ; )

  4. Daniel permalink
    April 9, 2009 1:00 pm

    Bold move to change name, but as a training professional, I like seeing blog’s scope broaden. Much of the online content related to training tends to get very narrow and self-indulgent, as if training is the end-goal. I’m looking forward to reading more.

  5. dwilkinsnh permalink*
    April 9, 2009 2:51 pm

    I agree about the “narrow and self-indulgent” comment. I think we have an echo chamber in learning that is every bit as loud as the one in social media. So many times I’ve heard learning professionals describe success as “95% completion rates” and “completing the project on time and on budget.” And I can’t help thinking that we’re just missing the boat as an industry – what about business impact and bottom-line results? How did we drive sales? How did we improve customer satisfaction? Improve productivity? Etc…

    A “95% completion rate” might be the foundation for these improvements, but without measuring the bottom-line impacts, who knows? The training could actually be making things worse… ; )

    So part of this move away from “social learning” is to move toward examining social processes throughout the org. Learning should be part of all of them and I think most of them should also factor into learning. Anyway, I’m very interested in how all of these technologies are going to disrupt all of the safe, little worlds most of us operate in. And I’m even more excited to see what new status quo emerges.

  6. January 24, 2010 3:34 am

    Dave, looking back ten months, how do you think your rebranding has worked? I ask in part because I have also been rising above the training level. In time, everyone will migrate up the chain, because work and learning will converge. But most people have yet to figure that out.

Leave a Reply

